AMP News Business

Nominations Open for 2020 Arkansas Business Hall of Fame


Nominations are now open for the 2020 Arkansas Business Hall of Fame.

The Business Hall of Fame board is seeking nominations for business leaders who have had a significant impact on their industry and the state. According to the Sam. Walton College of Business’s website, the Hall of Fame is “designed to honor, preserve and perpetuate the names and outstanding accomplishments of business leaders who have brought lasting fame to Arkansas.”

Since 1999, the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame has honored four leaders each year who have changed the course of business in the Natural State. The first members of the hall were William T. Dillard Sr., Charles H. Murphy, Jr., Jackson T. Stephens, and Sam M. Walton.

The 2019 class of the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame includes Claiborne P. Deming, Joe M. Steele, Warren A. Stephens, and John W. Tyson.

When considering nominees, the selection committee looks for “outstanding leadership in establishing, building or running a business,” as well as efforts to improve his/her community and a strong sense of ethics.

Consideration will be given to Arkansans who have business interests both in and out of state. However, living nominees must be at least 60 years of age.

The 2020 class of the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame will be honored at a gala dinner held on Feb. 7, 2020, in Little Rock.

To nominate an individual for the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame, fill out a nomination form that can be found here. Nominations can also be emailed to abhf@walton.uark.eduor by mail to the Office of External Relations at the Sam M. Walton College of Business, Donald W. Reynolds Center for Enterprise Development, Office of External Relations, Room 217, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 72701-1201.

The deadline to nominate for the hall of fame is July 31.

READ MORE: Hall of Famer: 2019 Arkansas Business Hall of Fame Class

Leave a Comment