Agriculture AMP News Politics

New Officers Elected to Arkansas Agriculture Board


New officers have been elected to serve on the Arkansas Agriculture Board. The new officers include Sam Angel II of Lake Village, who will serve as the board chair, and Kyle Baltz of Pocahontas, who is the board’s new vice-chair.

Appointed in 2018, Angel is a fourth-generation farmer and cotton gin owner. Baltz has served on the board since 2015 and has served as the board’s State Plant Board representative since 2017. He is a row crop and cattle producer.

Agriculture Board officers are elected every two years. The board is tasked with advising the Arkansas Agriculture Secretary on “all matters concerning agriculture, aquaculture, horticulture and kindred industries,” according to Arkansas Code Title 25.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson recently appointed a new member to the 20-person board. Damon Helton, a specialty crop and livestock producer in Saline County, was named by Hutchinson as the board’s newest member and the first Homegrown by Heroes program member to join the board.

Hutchinson also reappointed Ron Cavenaugh, of Cavenaugh Farms in Walnut Ridge, to a four-year term.

READ MORE: Agriculture Dept. Collects More than 166,00 Pounds of Unwanted Pesticides

Leave a Comment