Agriculture AMP News Business

Haigwood Reappointed to U.S. Soybean Export Council Board


Derek Haigwood

by Tyler Hale

A Newport farmer has been reappointed to the United States Soybean Export Council (USSEC) board of directors. Derek Haigwood has been named to the council for his third term, which ends in 2022.

Haigwood has served as the chairman for the USSEC since March 2018 and previously served as vice chairman from 2015 to 2018.

The USSEC board is made up of 15 members drawn from different agricultural trade groups in the United States. The groups that make up the board include the American Soybean Association (ASA), the United State Soybean Board (USB), as well as other trade, industry and state organizations.

Including Haigwood, seven individuals were appointed or reappointed to the USSEC board. For the USB, Haigwood and Darren Kadlec were reappointed and Stan Born was reappointed for the American Soybean Association. Two individuals – Craig Pietig and Matt Giltner – were elected in the Exporter Sub-Class Election, and Dawn Scheier returned to the board in the Allied Re-Election.

Haigwood is a director for the United Soybean Board. This board consists of 78 soybean farmers appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture for three year terms. According to the USB website, the board is responsible for overseeing the investment of soy checkoff by investing and leveraging these funds. Board members are charged with building preference for U.S. soybeans worldwide and enhancing U.S. soybean sustainability.

In addition to his activities with the soybean council, Haigwood operates a family farm, D.I.D. Farms, that produces soybeans, rice, grain, sorghum and wheat, according to his bio for the Delta Council.

READ MORE: Arkansas Farmers Grateful to Put 2019 Behind Them

Leave a Comment