Agriculture AMP News Business

Forty-Six Farms Inducted into Arkansas Century Farm Program


More than 40 Arkansas farms were recognized this week as Arkansas Century Farms.

During a ceremony on Monday, 46 farms were inducted into the Arkansas Century Farm program. Gov. Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Wes Ward were on hand to welcome the farmers and producers at the State Capitol’s rotunda.

The Arkansas Century Farm program was started by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture in 2012 to recognize the impact that agriculture and producers have on the state.

To date, 464 farms have been accepted into the program, including the 2019 farms.

To be eligible for the program, the farm must have been owned by the same family for 100 years or more by the end of a given calendar year, and the farmland being consider must constitute 10 acres or more of the original farm and still contribute to the farm’s overall income.

“How reassuring that we are adding more families to the Arkansas Century Farm Program,”Hutchinson said. “Families who have held onto their farms for generations lend a sense of continuity in a time of frequent change. These families pass down more than the knowledge of farming. They are handing down love of family and an ethic of hard work as well as a love for the land.”

The 2019 Arkansas Century Farm inductees, by county, include:

Arkansas County

Curtis Farm (Est. 1912)

Benton County

Bob & Sue Austin Farm (Est. 1919)

Clay County

Edward “Eddie” Ahrent Farm (Est. 1909) E.M. Brown Farm (1908)

Conway County

Henry Jones Family Farm (Est. 1884)

Drew County

JK-M&M Ranch (Est. 1857) Dickson Farm (Est. 1862)

Faulkner County

H & D Tucker Farms (Est. 1874)

Franklin County

Flynn Farms (Est. 1917)

Fulton County

Morris-Taylor Family Farm (Est. 1906) Humphries Hubble Creek Farm (Est. 1979)

Greene County

Sugar Creek Farm (Est. 1906)

Howard County

Chambers Farm (Est. 1862)

Independence County

Marshall Farm (Est. 1884) Churchill Holler Farm (Est. 1858)

Izard County

Arch Westmoreland Farm (Est. 1918)

Lawrence County

Ragsdale Family Farm (Est. 1911) James B Whitlow Farm (Est. 1905)

Lincoln County

Beard Family Farm (Est. 1899) Hoover Family Farm (Est. 1919)

Little River County

York Family Farm (Est. 1897)

Logan County

Johns Family Farm (Est. 1883)

Lonoke County

F.H Lyons Farm (Est. 1902 Chronister Family Farm (Est. 1918)

Mississippi County

Rauls Family Farm (Est. 1908)

Crigger Farm (Est. 192)

Monroe County

Donovan Farm (Est. 1900)
Miller Bros/Flying Farmers (Est. 1872)

Nevada County

Henry-Franklin Farm (Est. 1890)

Poinsett County

Sitzer Farm (Est. 1913)

Polk County

Wiles Family Farm (Est. 1889)

Prairie County

Sickel Farms (Est. 1919) Highfill Family Farm (Est. 1915)

Scott County

Beaty Old Homeplace (Est. 1889) Sehorn Farms (Est. 1919)

Searcy County

Grinder/Taylor Farm (Est. 1917)

Sebastian County

Reding Farm (Est. 1886)

Sharp County

Sharp County Farm (Est. 1914) Simmons Family Farm (Est. 1918)

Stone County

Webb Place (Est. 1919)

Union County

Mahony Farm (Est. 1918)
Troy & Donna Henson Gol & Jewell Smith Farm (Est. 1918)

Woodruff County

Ryland Family Farm (Est. 1917) Louis Floyd Farm (Est. 1879)

READ MORE: USDA Announces New Internship Program

Leave a Comment