AMP News Media/Marketing Policy & Politics

Arkansas Broadcasters Association Names Sen. John Boozman “Arkansan of the Year”

The Arkansas Broadcasters Association (ABA) recently named Sen. John Boozman its “Arkansan of the Year” for 2017. Sen. Boozman accepted the award during the group’s awards banquet at its annual convention.

The award is presented to a person who has made significant contributions to residents of Arkansas. In presenting the award, the ABA noted that Sen. Boozman has always worked closely with Arkansas Broadcasters on issues affecting the industry, including signing on as a sponsor of the Radio Freedom Act which fights efforts to attach another “performance tax” to music played on radio and TV stations.

Past recipients of the “Arkansan of the Year” award were: Johnny Cash, John Paul Hammerschmidt, Lou Holtz, Gov. Bill Clinton, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Don Tyson, Patty Upton, Colin Raye, Sen. David Pryor, Sen. Dale Bumpers, Sen. Blanche Lincoln, Sen. Tim Hutchinson, Jerry Jones, Gov. Mike Huckabee, Richard Davies, James L. “Skip” Rutherford, Jermain Taylor, Claiborne Deming and Gov. Mike Beebe.

Photo courtesy of the Arkansas Broadcasters Association. Bob Connell with the Arkansas Broadcasters Association is shown presenting the award to Sen. John Boozman at the ABA’s Annual Convention

Leave a Comment